9 Week Update

My dad is doing really well right now.  He finishes his chemo and radiation this Friday.  His doctors are amazed at how well he is tolerating it all.  He isn’t on any steroids, anti nausea or antibiotics.  Which I guess is very uncommon.  Most patients are taking at least one of the above if not all.  He does take an anti-seizure medication 3 times a day, but that is standard for anyone that has this type of brain tumor.  He has never had a seizure though before or after being diagnosed.  He is in good spirits and very grateful for all everyone has done for him and still doing for him.  He gets very emotional, which I have mentioned before, whenever I talk to him or see him.  This is an adjustment for him because he is a very level person.  He doesn’t get angry ever, and I have only seen him cry twice in my life.  Both at funerals for his brother and his mom.

He has only lost a little hair where the radiation is going in his head.  He gets really tired at the end of the day and has to take a few naps during the day.  He is still forgetful and repeats a lot of things in a conversation.  He still looks to my mom to validate his answers to questions to make sure what he is saying is correct.  But his sense of humor is back and that makes me happy.

They will do another MRI after the chemo and radiation are over.  This will map out where the tumors are now and see if they have stopped growing or have gotten smaller/bigger.  After that he will have to do a week of chemo and radiation every 6 weeks I think.

So right now everything is great.  We feel very lucky that he is doing so well, especially since we know others that are going through the same thing that aren’t.  When I see/read what they are going through right now it makes my heart ache.  Knowing that is in my future, near future, scares me.

2 thoughts on “9 Week Update

  1. I’m so happy that your dad is doing so good at the moment!! Oh, and it’s really good that he is on seizure medication, it’s really not a pretty sight when that happens and also quite scary. Wish you all the best for that MRI!!

Leave a Reply

