15 Week Update

I haven’t posted much these past few weeks because there isn’t much to say.  Which in this situation is good I think. My dad just finished another round of chemo.  He did a double dose (300mg) for a week.  He had a little nausea with it and took an anti nausea pill each night and that helped.  It didn’t stop him though from camping most of that week.  He spent 3 days fishing (they caught around 50 fish) and camping with his best friend, his son,  my brother and my 14 year old son.  I am glad my dad is still able to camp.  Right after my dad was diagnosed my mom said he would go out in the backyard and stare at his boat.  That made me really sad.

My parents came up and spent the 4th of July with us.  My oldest son’s birthday is the 4th so it has always been a fun week for us.  I have to admit I was a little sad sitting next to my dad during the fireworks.  I kept praying in my mind, please let him be here next year for this.

My boyfriend, whom I do call my husband because we have lived together forever and have 2 kids together, are planning a wedding, finally.  I really want my dad to be there and I know our time is shorter than it used to be.  We are planning for March.  I hope we aren’t being too optimistic.  It makes my stomach hurt to think about him not being there.

On a sad note, my friend Cindy’s father passed away this past Thursday.  His funeral is tomorrow.  My heart hurts for her.  Please keep her in your prayers.

4 thoughts on “15 Week Update

  1. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding. I believe with every once of my being that your Dad will be there to walk you down the isle. You need to believe it too. Sounds like everyone had a wonderful 4th of July. I saw your pictures on your other blog. Everyday needs to be a celebration we shouldn’t need a holiday to remind us how precious life is and each and everyone in our lives are special. Thanks for sharing your families journey while fighting this monster.Remember never Give Up”

  2. Pingback: After – 5 Months | Trying To Survive One Moment At A Time

Leave a Reply

