Happiest Sad

Facebook post Sunday February 16:

Today is a sad but joyous day. My 95-year-old grandfather passed away early this morning. He was the kindest man with a quick funny answer to anything you said to him. He was a great example and raised some of the best men I know. One of them being my dad. Love you grandpa.

IMG_6220

Additional Facebook post the same day:

I wanted to share a funny memory of my grandfather. Last Memorial Day we had a nice dinner before we went to the cemetery. We sat down to eat and I got an apron out for grandpa to wear so he wouldn’t get his white church shirt dirty. I said to him “Now grandpa this apron says Utah State Aggies on it. You should feel really special to be wearing it.” without a second of hesitation he said “Well you better turn it inside out. We can’t have that showing.” (He’s a huge BYU fan). He ate the whole dinner with it on inside out. Funny, especially since more than half of his grandchildren went to USU.

I have mixed emotions about his death.  I am so happy for him.  He has wanted to go for so long now.  But it feels like we just did this.  A year doesn’t seem very long in terms of going to another funeral. It reminds me a lot of those feelings a year ago.

It makes me miss my dad.

After dropping my son off at school yesterday at 7am I was driving down the same street I drive everyday and on the side of the road was an old man.  He had white hair and was dressed in suit pants, a white shirt and tie.  He was waving at everyone as they drove by and smiling.  He’s NEVER been there before.  He didn’t have a coat on.  (It was 30 degrees outside).  As I drove past him he looked me right in the eyes and had the hugest smile and waved. He looked so happy. I cried the rest of the way home. He reminded me so much of my grandfather.  Later when I left for work  the first song my iPod played is the song from my father’s funeral “Never Alone” by Lady Antebellum.  Ok, this song has NEVER been in my shuffle selection on my iPod EVER.  Then the next song after that was “Beautiful World” by Bon Jovi.  Really????  Let me add that my drive to work is all but 8 minutes from my house.

Do I believe in “signs” from the here after?  Coincidences? Not usually.

But yesterday I did.

john

IMG_2300

Leave a Reply

