After – 3 Years, 8 Weeks, 6 Days

I love the app on Facebook called “On This Day”.  It shows you what you have posted in the past on that very day over the years you’ve been on Facebook.  I enjoy seeing my kids growing up, or reading silly comments that my now 8 year old made when she was little.  I DON’T like it when posts like this show up:

April 6, 2012
Taken today. My dad is doing very well. He starts chemo and radiation in a week or so. Thank you all again for your thoughts and prayers.

535473_3705275516216_486521772_n

Yes, it was a happy(ish) post at the time.  Now I look at it and it makes me kinda angry.  I’m grateful for the time we got after his surgery etc., but I still hold a big grudge against GBM.  It’s hard to think that a little over 4 years ago the words Glioblastoma Multiforme weren’t even part of my vocabulary.

Life goes on…..

My mom is doing well.  She is still serving a mission for her church.  She extended it even longer.  She enjoys being busy.  She has decided to sell her house and move before her mission is over.  I think the idea of going back to her house is depressing.  She wants to start cleaning it out this weekend and asked me to come down and help her.  So, a day of crying and boxing stuff up. Yeah for a fun weekend.

I still miss my dad.  I still cry sometimes.  Usually at odd moments that don’t have a huge amount of significance about anything.  But like I have said before, it has gotten easier and doesn’t hurt the way it used to.

Spring is here finally and that makes me happy.  The robins are back.

2 thoughts on “After – 3 Years, 8 Weeks, 6 Days

  1. Heather,

    I want to take a moment to thank you for your blog. I actually discovered it about a year ago when my father was first diagnosed with GBM. We lost him in November but through the whole difficult battle, your words have been extremely helpful. There are things you’ve written to describe your grief and emotions, and it’s like you were reading my mind. Even though we’ve never met, it’s somehow comforting to see that others understand the way I feel (although I would never want anyone to go through this). Thanks again for continuing to share your journey. Blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

